Monday, April 23, 2018

Charmant!



No matter how humble, Parisians always seem to find a way to make their homes so very charming.

Sunday, April 22, 2018

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Le crêpier


There are street vendors and there are STREET VENDORS.  Mon préféré! Oh la la!
 Boulevard Saint Germain

Friday, April 20, 2018

A lLovely Discovery


As I strolled along rue des Archives, in search of my friends and a glass of wine, I noticed this church, Église protestante unie des Billets Parioisse. I pushed a door and found this lovely courtyard.

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Les grandes portes


These gorgeous glass doors welcome you to L'opera Restaurant. Designed by architect Odile Decq, it's tucked alongside the Opéra Garnier.

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Le harpiste

 Always interesting street musicians, mimes, and artists outside the Sacre Coeur in Montmartre.

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Passing Time


Long days at the Marché aux Puces. Vendors pass the time reading.

Friday, April 13, 2018

Thursday, April 12, 2018

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Les ballerines




I'm printing a ballerina series for The Cahaba Lilly South in the Greystone area of  Birmingham. This pretty tutu was taken at the Opéra Garnier gift shop. For more information contact Cahaba Lilly South or me!

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Quirky

Normally I zip over to Monsieur Google and try and find a nifty French phrase for my title, but this collection from the QUIRKY, Tombées du Camion left me unsure. Maybe some of my French speakers can help me out.

Tombées du Camion has several shops around Paris.  In 2011, Mary, Peter and I tracked down the original shop in Montmartre. As a photographer, it's a delight. It's just chock full of an odd but very orderly collection of vintage memorabilia, doll heads, print shop letters, vintage ties, you get the idea. If you visit the Marché aux Puces you can stroll through their stalls there. Visit their website for other locations.

Sunday, April 8, 2018

Des sourires


 One of the many things I love about the Marais is the diversity you find in such a small area. For a photographer, it's endless portraits of such beautiful faces.

Friday, April 6, 2018

Jolis balcons


One of my favorite balconies in the Marais. Always look up in Paris!

Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Timeless


Occasionally, I snap a shot and later realize the image could have been taken decades ago. This young boy, on a school field trip near the Village Saint-Paul, gave me that feeling.

Monday, April 2, 2018

Guillon Fleurs


I"ve visited this lovely shop twice. The  owner is a delight. 

120 Boulevard Raspail
75006 Paris

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Le pédaleur

 Young and old pedal around Paris. That ship has sailed for me!

Monday, March 26, 2018

Notre Dame...





is always a good idea. That said, if you're visiting at peak tourist season, consider getting the jump on the queue by arriving at opening hour. This is a church that no visitor wants to miss, but if you have to choose between long hours in line and a very short time in Paris, there are many amazing churches to visit.

Saturday, March 24, 2018

Thursday, March 22, 2018

La Basilique du Sacré-Coeur de Montmartre


The Sacré Coeur should be on everyone's top 10 list for your trip to Paris. Not only is it a beautiful church, but the view of the city of Paris is breathtaking.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Café Nemours

I've spent a lot of time here. We always have lunch at least once. The quiche is light and fluffy. On other days, we flop down in an outside chair and have a glass of wine and watch the world go by at Place Colette, while munching the ridiculously awful nibbles. We dream of the day Nemours offers cacahuètes!

Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Un peu


In January 2013,  Mary and I arrived in Paris to a lovely dusting of snow. We had a nice lunch first,  and then Peter and I headed straight to Tuileries for photos. Alas, it started raining and it made trekking through the gardens impossible. Dommage.

Monday, March 19, 2018

La vieille porte


Sadly I think they were preparing to paint this beautiful old door. Le progrès.

Sunday, March 18, 2018

Beaucoup d'écharpes

Many of you who know me well, will not be surprised to learn that I could probably recreated this with my very own scarf collection!

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Who Knew?

Who knew the Gates of Hell would be found in such a lovely setting?  

Friday, March 16, 2018

Un Cour Charmant


Discovered this sweet courtyard wandering the hilly streets of Butte aux Cailles.

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Eva


Eleven years ago this week, we visited Paris together. One of the most wonderful weeks in my life. Amazingly, even at age 5, Eva still remembers that trip to Paris. Here she rode the carrousel at Tuileries all alone as it was cold and most Parisian children was not in the parks. That trip not only sparked my love of Paris, but also for photography. The rest is history!

Wednesday, March 14, 2018